The NBA and Greed.

Dear NBA Players,

You look hungry. Really hungry.

You need to go eat a big, heaping bowl of shut-the-hell-up.

My husband, Gary, is a big Boston Celtics fan. As a result, I was starting to jump on the proverbial bandwagon last season. I admittedly didn’t really “get it” at first, and even toward the end of the season, I was still asking him a lot of questions about the technicalities of the game.

I was really starting to like it. I wasn’t passionate about it like I am passionate about baseball (even though the Red Sox completely blew it this past season). But I was one of the many yelling at the TV over bad calls, crappy refs, and terrible plays. I was on your side.

Until now.

You are all a bunch of greedy bastards. There. I said it.

This is not to say that the League is any better. They are just as greedy.

But you have the NERVE to complain about making six, seven–even EIGHT figure salaries, when the rest of us are barely scraping by?

Recently, I found myself without work for nearly a year, through no fault of my own. I went to school–and worked full time while doing it. I earned two degrees through hard work, sacrifice and dedication. I got a full time job right out of college. I earned specialized certifications to be able to do many different kinds of jobs. I have always paid off my debts. I live modestly, in a small, inexpensive condo with constant construction and motorcycle noise right outside our windows. My husband and I are reasonably comfortable, but far from wealthy. Yet, we are now both so fortunate to have two jobs that pay slightly above average salaries. We are good, middle-class people. And as much as I joke around about how everything in life “annoys me,” we both know how lucky we are.

Even when I was unemployed and depressed as hell about it, I KNEW how lucky we were.

I am not an overly religious person, and I have many, many faults–faults too numerous to list. But every night before I go to bed, I silently thank God that we have a roof over our heads, food on the table, semi-decent health,fair-to-midland jobs and a few dollars in our savings account.

These players have millions upon millions of dollars, elaborate homes people like yours truly can only dream of, the fanciest of cars, are also in (generally) very good health, could fill my entire apartment in caviar, and got a free ride in college just because you were tall and agile. Oh, and half of you are, or have been in gangs.

And you think, for even one second of the day, that you have the right to complain because you’re not making even MORE millions?

The majority of you truly are selfish, greedy, despicable people. I know that sounds harsh, but it’s a fact. There are tens of thousands of people going without health care, who haven’t worked in years (but desperately WANT to), stand in line at the local soup kitchen so that their kids can have a hot meal, can’t afford a college education, and are thisclose to living on the streets.

And you complain because you want to make $20 million instead of $18 million?

You should be ashamed of yourselves.

Whether you are pro-union or anti-union, unions were originally created so that average people could have “normal” workweeks and decent wages and benefits to take care of their families. They weren’t created for jerks like you to make far more money than you’ll ever need, and then to complain about it.

When I go to bed every night from now on, I’m going to thank God for everything I have. But I’m also going to pray to God that LaBron James, Kevin Garnett, Kobe Bryant, and the rest of you thugs eventually have to work in a McDonald’s because you were too stupid and greedy to manage your money effectively.

I know that’s a prayer that won’t be answered, but hey–a girl can dream, right?

Pull your heads out of your you know whats and be grateful for what you’ve been blessed with.

And I guess that goes for all of us. Because let’s be honest–if you’re able to read this, chances are you’re wealthier than millions upon millions of other people in this world.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

